Examination matters

Annual award and graduation ceremony 2010



On 24 September 2010, the Institute conferred certificates on 1,888 students who passed the final examination of the QP at the annual award and graduation ceremony. Officiated by the guest-of-honour, Ms. Au King-chi, Permanent Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, 11 top QP candidates received awards of merit, 21 outstanding students received QP scholarships and 39 top accounting students from 16 universities and educational institutions in Hong Kong and Mainland received the Hong Kong Institute of CPAs scholarships. Please click to view the ceremony highlights, and a full list of December 2009 and June 2010 graduates.

We also presented a QP examination setting panelist award to Ms. Rebecca Law for recognizing her significant contribution to the examination of QP during the past decade.

Prizes for top final examination candidates







Prof. Arthur K.C. Li presenting the Li Fook Shu Memorial Prize to Ms. Lau Tin Wing (left) and Ms. Kwong Wai Nga (right) respectively.

The memorial prize was established by the Honourable Dr. David Li in memory of his late father, Mr. F. S. Li, one of the Institute's founding members. The value of each memorial prize was HK\$10,000 and was awarded to the candidate attaining the highest marks in the final examination of each examination session. The December 2009 session award recipient was Ms. Lau Tin Wing whilst the June 2010 session award recipient was Ms. Kwong Wai Nga.

BDO Prize





Mr. Clement Chan presenting the BDO Prize to Ms. Lau Hei Man (left) and Mr. Yick Wing Pan (right) respectively.

The prize was established by BDO Limited in 2010. The value of each prize was HK\$5,000 and was awarded to the candidate attaining the second highest marks in the final examination of each examination session. The December 2009 session award recipient was Ms. Lau Hei Man whilst the June 2010 session award recipient was Mr. Yick Wing Pan.

ICAEW/Simon Morris Memorial Prize





Mr. Peter Leung presenting the ICAEW/Simon Morris Memorial Prize to Mr. Yeung Tin Wai (left) and Ms. Kwong Wai Nga (right) respectively.

The late Mr. Simon Morris who worked in Hong Kong for 25 years, was a member of ICAEW and the Institute. After he passed away, his wife made the prize donation of HK\$10,000 per annum in memory of Mr. Morris via the ICAEW. The value of each memorial prize was HK\$5,000 and was awarded to the graduate attaining the highest aggregate marks in the four modules of each final examination session. The December 2009 session award recipient was Mr. Yeung Tin Wai and the June 2010 session award recipient was Ms. Kwong Wai Nga.